Math Comics 2012 (Assessment for Learning)

Before the start of the school year, I set a goal of doing at least 1 blog entry per month. It’s the beginning of December and this is only my second posting of the school year! LOL I guess, yet again this year, the nature of teaching life has completely engulfed me.

Anyhow, once again, during the first weeks of school, I have students complete a number of Math assessments, and once again, this year, I had my students create a math comic to express how they feel about doing Math. This is a fun way for students to reveal their attitudes toward Math. This year was quite telling as you can see from this set of comics.

A gallery of this year's comics. There were some really good, quirky pieces this year. Using this as one of my assessment tools, it was really clear to me that most of my class has strong negative feelings toward math.

A gallery of this year’s comics. There were some really good, quirky pieces this year. Using this as one of my assessment tools, it was really clear to me that most of my class has strong negative feelings toward math.

100_0265

I love the way how this student feels about Math but also the pressure she seems to feel about achieving perfection. What a mean Math teacher!

 

This was probably my most favourite of all the comics that I've seen. This student was very influenced by Japanese manga and a lot of her art shows this influence.

This was probably my most favourite of all the comics that I’ve seen. This student was very influenced by Japanese manga and a lot of her art shows this influence.

100_0260

All things Math (i.e. calculators, manipulatives) are destroying this child’s life. Notice the reference to orphan tears? See my previous posts to understand the reference.

100_0261

This was probably the only student that enjoyed doing Math. (Level 4 for her!)

100_0262

Fun! Someone was influenced by video games.

100_0263

This one I’m still trying to figure out, but I know when the student handed it in, he gave a big huff of frustration. He’s not a fan.

 

3 thoughts on “Math Comics 2012 (Assessment for Learning)

  1. Pingback: Math Comics 2012 (Assessment for Learning) « Mr. Vente Ponders

Leave a Reply

